Cartoons are for Kids

this tagline is hilarious

Haikasoru: It Tastes like Words

leave a comment »

I am way too cheap (read: poor) to fork out for a current generation game console, and I own every PS2 game worth buying. What am I supposed to buy in order to give my life a sense of meaning and purpose? I’ve taken up the hobby of purchasing books published by Haikasoru. Just today I completed my collection with the purchase of Brave Story and Battle Royale.

Sometimes I actually read these books too.

A few weeks ago I read through Usurper of the Sun, chosen over such titles as Zoo and All You Need Is Kill by the decidedly unbiased method of “Picking a number”. It wasn’t something I find “great” to be a bad descriptor of. The characters were likable, the scenario was interesting, and the technobabble kept at a level that is both accessible and immersive. I felt smart reading it.

Today, continuing my eternal struggle to put off beating Digital Devil Saga 2 once and for all, I read The Lord of the Sands of Time. Ignoring that it is a short 196 pages, and reads very fast, the fact I read it in a single sitting speaks volumes about how good it is. It strikes a balance of being intricate and captivating and complex and all of the other good words people say about nice things, while still appealing to the kind of gut emotions that most people deny having. While the fight for Humanity’s survival is always at the forefront of the story, it still manages to be emotional on a significant level.

So far Haikasoru has given me two books that were worth what I paid for them, and if zoo is as interesting as all of Otsuichi’s other translated works, then it will soon be 3.

Their blog is also interesting. This earns them much respect.

Written by PIR

December 20, 2009 at 23:21

Posted in Books

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

