Cartoons are for Kids

this tagline is hilarious

Like When You Sniff a Sneaker

leave a comment »

Beware, all ye who enter.

I have subjected myself to the most grievous of activities. Just yesterday I marathoned Strawberry Panic in it’s entirety. I’m still mulling over the mental and physical ramifications of what I subjected myself to, and coming to grips with the undeniable fact that I am either very very stupid, or very very masochistic.

I’m not even sure how it got on my hard drive. Witchcraft of some kind I guess.

I was lured in by the opening song. Good music is a weakness of mine. More than one person will vouch for my habit of “Watching it for the OP”. It’s how I justified watching 22 episodes of Shuffle, dubbed.

I can’t give a lot of credit to the show on any level, but there are two things that are worth mentioning. First is that while the voice acting is somewhere between ‘lackluster’ and ‘adequate’, I found the crying to be above average, even by today’s standards. I don’t know if the actors took courses on it or what. Secondly, the story. It is either completely derivative and unoriginal, or it is the show from which everything else derived, because the entire show was an excercise in déjà vu. I know I haven’t seen Strawberry Panic before.

My body couldn’t take that a second time.

Written by PIR

December 19, 2009 at 15:13

Leave a Reply

