Cartoons are for Kids

this tagline is hilarious

Why can’t every game have Baten Kaitos’ load times?

leave a comment »

I repo’d my Gamecube from Sister Unit’s holding facility today, and popped in Baten Kaitos after seeing the ad for it on the back of the Tales of Symphonia manual that was sitting on my nightstand.

That is not a game that can be described as ‘fast’. It seems aggressively slow about everything from Kalas’ running speed (doofus needs to do a little cross training) to the pause between character animations in cutscenes, but I’ll be damned if I’ve seen battles load faster in any other game I’ve played. All in all, including the time you can’t act because of animations and pre-battle dialogue, it takes 2.5, maybe 3 seconds to get into the swing of things.

I don’t understand how Namco can achieve this on the Gamecube 6 years ago and I still play games that have me wait the requisite 4 seconds to load, and sit through the entirely necessary 5 second cinematic battle intro. Shit like that is what made me quit playing Final Fantasy VII (as if I needed another reason) and why I can’t replay Tales of the Abyss even though I love it like my unborn children.

In days like these, with hardware like this, why do I have to put up with this shit?

P.S. If I ever finish it (like when I finish DDS2) I’ll review it or something. It’s lovely, it really is, but with my track record chances of finishing it are as slim as ever.

Written by PIR

August 17, 2009 at 21:20

Posted in Games

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

